Hangzhou is the capital of Zhejiang Province. It is the birthplace of silk and is known throughout the world as a manufacturer of excellent silk fabrics and products.
The first people settled in this region over 4,000 years ago in Liangzhu, which is 25 km northwest of the city. In those days , Hangzhou was nothing more than a bay that could only be seen at low tide on the Qiantang River. In the Qing period (221-207 BC), people settled at the foot of Lingying Hill, west of the lake. This is how Hangzhou County came into existence.
In 1127 the city became the capital of the whole country. In the XIII century. the famous Italian traveler Marco Polo visited these parts, who called Hangzhou “a heavenly city, the most beautiful and noblest in the world.” Such a strong impression is largely due to Xi Hu Lake. Its other name is West Lake. According to legend, the reservoir was formed from pearls that the Phoenix and the Dragon dropped to the ground. On three sides, Sihu is surrounded by wooded mountains. On clear moonlit nights, reflected in the lake surface, they create a unique spectacle. On the shores, waters and islands of the lake there are dozens of picturesque places, many of which have poetic names, such as “Autumn Moon over the Lake”, “Seclusion Hill” or “Goldfish in the Flower Harbor”. Check itypeusa for provinces in south China.
“Three Moon Pools” is a landscape place located on the largest of the three islands of Lake Xihu. The insular territory, including the enclosed body of water,, of which 60% are in the water area. The construction of the foundation of the island began in 1935. During the Qing dynasty, the eastern and western dams were erected, on which willows were planted, and the southern and northern bridges were built. Thus, water backwaters were preserved within the island itself. In 1621, three stone pagodas in the form of gourds were erected on its territory. The height of the pagodas is 2 m, each of them rests on a round stone foundation, five round holes are drilled in the walls of the pagodas. On the Mid-Autumn Festival, lamps are lit inside the pagodas, the light from which, passing through the holes and reflected in the water, creates the impression of numerous reflections of the moon scattered on the water. On the other of the islands, Gushan, the mountain of Solitude rises, from which a unique panorama of the surroundings opens. Three large bridges have been built on the lake. One of them, Duanqiao, provides an excellent overview. Pleasure boats depart for excursions around the lake from various places along the coast, and for a more leisurely acquaintance with the beauties, you can hire a small junk with a rower. Around Xihu Lake are located plantations of the most famous and expensive varieties of tea.
At 8 km south of Xihu, at the crossing rises the pagoda of the Six Harmonies (Lyuhe, Liuhe). It was built by a local prince in 970 to protect against floods. In addition, the pagoda serves as a lighthouse at night. Now it is a 13-storey building. A wooden staircase leads up to the top floor, which offers a panoramic view of the river and the surrounding area. Hangzhou is home to China’s most famous Buddhist monastery, the Temple of the Refuge of the Soul. (Lingyisy, Lingyinsi). The temple was built in 326 by an Indian monk. Particularly interesting in the temple is the sculptural image of the smiling Buddha, located at the foot of the mountain. It is believed that touching this statue brings happiness and good luck.
Among the sights of the city there are many museums: the tea museum, the silk museum, the museum of the porcelain kiln, the museum of Chinese medicine. In the tea museum, you can not only get acquainted with the process of creating different types of drink, the history of tea growing and various types of tea vessels and cups, but also take part in the collection of tea, taste elite varieties, and also purchase everything you need for a tea ceremony. Zhijiang is located in the southwest of Hangzhou. (Zhijiang). This is a very picturesque place where the Fuchun (Fuchun) and Xin’an (Xin “an) rivers flow into Qiandao Lake (“Lake of a Thousand Islands”). There are really 1000 islands in Qiandao, their exact number is 1078. Many of them are covered with forests. At the beginning In 2002, two ancient cities, over 1800 years old, were discovered under the lake, and their buildings are in excellent condition.During the Eastern Han era (25-220), Chun’an and Sui’an counties were located here, which were flooded 40 years ago. Diving discovered the city of Suian.At a depth of 30 m is its city wall, which is 3 m high. Nails are still visible in the gate. All buildings are covered with seaweed. Furniture and wooden stairs are also preserved. Exquisitely carved wood testifies to the former greatness of the city.